River Oaks Chamber Orchestra presents Pacific Crossings

Akihito Obama - Shakuhachi
Photo courtesy of River Oaks Chamber Orchestra

Guest conductor Edwin Outwater leads the River Oaks Chamber Orchestra in a Kyo-Shin-An Arts and ROCO co-commission from composer James Matheson. The world premiere performance of Matheson’s “Concerto for Two Shakuhachi: The Age of Air” marks the 50th original composition commissioned by ROCO in the ensemble’s 11-year history.

The work — performed by shakuhachi virtuosos James Nyoraku Schlefer and Akihito Obama — portrays a blend of East and West cultures with the addition of the early Japanese end-blown flute that’s often used in Zen meditation and traditional Japanese folk music.

Vivian Fung’s “Pizzicato” and Sibelius’ “Symphony No. 3” complete the program.

Event Details


11.14.15 | 5:00 pm


The Church of St. John the Divine
2450 River Oaks Blvd.
Houston, TX 77019

Ticket Info