Musiqa presents Island Time

Dan Schmahl / Musiqa in concert
Dan Schmahl, Untitled I, 2015, Archival pigment print Photo by Dan Schmahl

Musiqa, two-time winner of the Chamber Music America/ASCAP Award for Adventurous Programming, presents a free loft concert, Island Time. The concert's program is comprised of music by five American and British composers, and is structured around Joan Tower's Island Prelude, a work originally written for oboe and orchestra and featured on this program in its incarnation for chamber ensemble. The concert also includes David Dzubay's Threnody for string quartet, British composer Nicola Le Fanu's Soliloquy for solo oboe, Welsh composer Hilary Tann's Duo for oboe and viola, and Nina C. Young's Meditation, a duo for violin and cello.

For this program oboist Alecia Lawyer who will be joined by violinists Natalie Lin and Lin Lin Huang, violist Suzanne LeFevre, and cellist Francesca McNeely.

Event Details


2.11.16 | 6:30 pm


Contemporary Arts Museum Houston
5216 Montrose Blvd.
Houston, TX 77006


Ticket Info

Admission is free.