Houston Symphony presents Brahms & Schumann

Houston Symphony with conductor Andres Orozco-Estrada
Photo courtesy of Houston Symphony

Known for her fresh interpretations and for performing barefoot, European violin sensation Patricia Kopatchinskaja plays Robert Schumann’s brooding, beautiful Violin Concerto. Initially suppressed by Johannes Brahms and Clara Schumann because they feared it showed signs of Robert’s impending madness, this haunting concerto is now recognized as one of Schumann’s late masterpieces. Andrés conducts Brahms’ sunny Symphony No. 2, which features dreamy lullabies, a soulful Adagio and the biggest bring-down-the-house finale Brahms ever wrote. Also on the program is Samuel Barber’s early masterpiece, Overture to The School for Scandal.

Note: The Thursday program is part of our “Musically Speaking with Andrés” series and only includes Schumann’s Violin Concerto.

Event Details


1.31.16 | 2:30 pm
1.30.16 | 7:30 pm
1.28.16 | 7:30 pm


Jones Hall
615 Louisiana St.
Houston, TX 77002


Ticket Info