Houston Symphony presents Beethoven's Mass in C

Courtney Lewis
Courtney Lewis Courtesy photo
Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos
Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos Courtesy photo
News-Houston Symphony-Jones Hall
The Houston Symphony Courtesy of Greater Houston Convention and Visitors Bureau

In this program of contrast and similarities, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos conducts works of two great composers — Beethoven and Stravinsky — born more than one hundred years apart but connected by their approach to composition. The program includes Beethoven's Mass in C Major and Stravinsky's Pulcinella.

Note: Ailing from pneumonia-like symptoms, Frühbeck will be replaced by Belfast-born conductor Courtney Lewis, who was recently named assistant conductor of the New York Philharmonic beginning in the 2014-15 season. This will be Lewis' debut with the Houston Symphony.

Event Details


3.23.14 | 2:30 pm
3.22.14 | 8:00 pm
3.21.14 | 8:00 pm


Jones Hall
615 Louisiana St.
Houston, TX 77002


Ticket Info

$25 - $119