RodeoHouston Concert Lineup

11 newcomers join veteran Texas favorites in RodeoHouston concert lineup

11 newcomers join veteran favorites in RodeoHouston concert lineup

Luke Bryan at Houston Rodeo
Luke Bryant is returning to RodeoHouston for the sixth time on March 16. Photo by Michelle Watson/Catchlight Group
Alicia Keys, head shot
Alicia Keys will make her second RodeoHouston appearance on March 10 with a Black Heritage Day performance. CaleGrantonMusic.com
Austin City Limits Hall of Fame induction 2016 Willie Nelson Mickey Raphael Kris Kristofferson
Willie Nelson will make his first RodeoHouston appearance in more than a decade on March 18. Photo by Scott Newton Courtesy of KLRU-TV/Austin City Limits
Blink 182
Blink 182 will make its RodeoHouston debut on March 23. Photo courtesy of Live Nation
Zac Brown Band light
The popular Zac Brown Band will close on March 26 at the RodeoHouston Super Shootout.  Photo by John Boni/CatchlightGroup.com
Luke Bryan at Houston Rodeo
Alicia Keys, head shot
Austin City Limits Hall of Fame induction 2016 Willie Nelson Mickey Raphael Kris Kristofferson
Blink 182
Zac Brown Band light

There's something old and a lotta new in the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo concert lineup, which was released early Monday morning. Half of the lineup — 11 of the 22 performers who will appear on the rotating stage at NRG stadium during the month-long rodeo — are newcomers. They will join such veteran favorites as ZZ Top and Willie Nelson, who will be making his first rodeo appearance in more than a decade, during the nearly month-long extravaganza.

Amarillo native Aaron Watson will open the rodeo on March 7 on First Responders Day and the popular Zac Brown Band will close on March 26 at the RodeoHouston Super Shootout. It is Watson's first time at the rodeo and the Zac Brown Band's sixth appearance.

Other rodeo newcomers include DJ duo The Chainsmokers and country-pop singer Sam Hunt (who are also the headliners at Club Nomadic on February 2 during Super Bowl Week), pop singer Meghan Trainor, popular girl group Fifth Harmony, pop-punk band Blink 182, country acts Old DominionChris Stapleton, Thomas Rhett, and Go Tejano Day bands Banda El Recodo and Siggno.

Among veteran favorites, Alan Jackson will be making his 23rd rodeo appearance, and others include Brad Paisley (11th appearance), Willie Nelson (ninth appearance),  Dierks Bentley (seventh appearance), Luke Bryan (sixth appearance), and ZZ Top (sixth appearance). ZZ Top is also the headliner for the free Super Bowl LIVE concert series in Discovery Green early next month.

Soulful blues singer Alicia Keys, who is a popular judge on The Voice, will be the featured attraction on March 10 at Black Heritage Day. 

Invidual tickets will go on sale Saturday (January 14) at 10 am through AXS Ticketing via rodeohouston.com. The Online Waiting Room opens at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday, but fans can pre-register any time at axs.com/rodeohouston_registration to make the ticket-buying experience easier.

Here is the full lineup:

Tuesday, March 7 First Responders Day, presented by BP:  Aaron Watson
Wednesday, March 8*: Armed Forces Appreciation Day, presented by BHP Billiton: Old Dominion
Thursday, March 9:  Chris Stapleton
Friday, March 10:  Black Heritage Day, presented by Kroger: Alicia Keys
Saturday, March 11:  Alan Jackson
Sunday, March 12:  The Chainsmokers
Monday, March 13:  Sam Hunt
Tuesday, March 14:  Meghan Trainor
Wednesday, March 15*: Thomas Rhett
Thursday, March 16:  Luke Bryan
Friday, March 17:  Fifth Harmony
Saturday, March 18:  Willie Nelson
Sunday, March 19: Go Tejano Day Banda El Recodo and Siggno
Monday, March 20:  Florida Georgia Line
Tuesday, March 21:  ZZ Top
Wednesday, March 22*: Chris Young
Thursday, March 23: Blink 182
Friday, March 24:  Dierks Bentley
Saturday, March 25: RodeoHoustonSuper Series Championship, Brad Paisley
Sunday, March 26:   RodeoHouston Super Shootout, presented by Crown Royal, Zac Brown Band
*Value Wednesdays include $10 upper-level Rodeo tickets, plus values throughout NRG Park.