HFCS awards 2019

'Hollywood' steals the show in Houston Film Critics Society's picks for annual movie awards

Houston Film Critics Society unveils picks for upcoming movie awards

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Brad Pitt Leonardo di Caprio
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is nominated for Best Picture.  Photo by Andrew Cooper/Columbia Pictures

The latest, acclaimed films from Noah Baumbach and Quentin Tarantino are the big nominees for the Houston Film Critics Society's 13th annual awards, which were announced on Sunday, December 15.

Marriage Story, Baumbach's semi-autobiographical look at the dissolution of a marriage, and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Tarantino's epic love letter to '60s-era Tinseltown, are nominated for for six awards, including Best Picture. (Hollywood is also nominated for Best Movie Poster Art.) 

1917, The Farewell, The Irishman, and Parasite are nominated for five awards, including Best Picture. Rounding out the Best Picture category are Knives Out, Jojo Rabbit, Joker, and Uncut Gems

Due to the close voting for nominations, the HFCS has six nominees for Best Actress this year, instead of five: Charlize Theron (Bombshell), Awkwafina (The Farewell), Renee Zellweger (Judy), Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story), Saoirse Ronan (Little Women), and Lupita Nyong'o (Us).

Nominated for Best Actor are Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood), Adam Driver (Marriage Story), Eddie Murphy (Dolemite is My Name), Joaquin Phoenix (Joker), and Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems). The HFCS will once again honor films made in Texas with the nominees for the Texas Independent Film Awards (TIFA). This year's films are Bull, Building the American Dream, Nothing Stays the Same: The Story of the Saxon Pub, Seadrift and Sleeping in Plastic

“We’re a passionate, adventurous group,” says HFCS president Doug Harris. “This list of nominees represents the thousands of screening hours our members have devoted to uncovering the year’s most distinctive films so that we can bring the best of cinema from around the world to the audiences we serve.” 

Winners in all 18 categories will be presented on Thursday, January 2, 2020, at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. B-movie legend Roger Corman will be honored with a lifetime achievement award and Ellyn Needham, wife of the late filmmaker/stuntman Hal Needham, will present the inaugural award for Best Stunt Coordination Team.

An after-party, open to all awards ticket holders at no additional charge, will be staged in the Ultimate Ransom Room at the Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District. For more information, visit the event site

Best Motion Picture


Knives Out

Jojo Rabbit


Marriage Story


Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

The Irishman

The Farewell

Uncut Gems

Best Director of a Motion Picture

Bong Joon Ho, Parasite

Sam Mendes, 1917

Martin Scorsese, The Irishman

Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Lulu Wang, The Farewell

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Adam Driver, Marriage Story

Eddie Murphy, Dolemite is My Name

Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role *

Charlize Theron, Bombshell

Awkwafina, The Farewell

Renee Zellweger, Judy

Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

Saoirse Ronan, Little Women

Lupita Nyong'o, Us

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse

Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes

Al Pacino, The Irishman

Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role *

Kathy Bates, Richard Jewell

Laura Dern, Marriage Story

Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit

Florence Pugh, Little Women

Margot Robbie, Bombshell

Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Best Screenplay

Knives Out

Marriage Story

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood


The Farewell

Best Animated Feature

Frozen II

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

I Lost My Body

Missing Link

Toy Story 4

Best Cinematography



Once Upon a Time in Hollywood


The Irishman

Best Foreign Language Film *


Corpus Christi

Les Miserables


Pain & Glory


Best Documentary Feature *

American Factory

Apollo 11

Biggest Little Farm

For Sama

Hail Satan?

They Shall Not Grow Old

Best Original Score



Little Women

Marriage Story


Best Original Song *

"Glasgow," Wild Rose

"Home to You," The Aeronauts

"I Punched Keanu Reeves," Always Be My Maybe

"(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again," Rocketman

"Into the Unknown," Frozen II

"Stand Up," Harriet

Best Visual Effects


Ad Astra

Avengers: Endgame

Best Stunt Coordination Team


Ford v Ferrari


John Wick: Chapter 3-Parabellum


Best Movie Poster Art

Birds of Passage

John Wick: Chapter 3-Parabellum

The Last Black Man in San Francisco 

Once Upon a Time in...Hollywood


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Texas Independent Film Award Nominees


Building the American Dream

Nothing Stays the Same: The Story of the Saxon Pub


Sleeping in Plastic

* Based on a tie in voting results, these categories include six nominees.