The Rothko Chapel presents Óscar Romero Award Ceremony

Many events have been canceled or postponed due to coronavirus concerns. Please check with the organization before going to any event.
Rothko Chapel
Photo courtesy of Rothko Chapel

The Rothko Chapel will host a live-streamed ceremony to celebrate the winners of its biannual Óscar Romero Award, which recognizes courageous, grassroots, human rights advocacy. The 2020 award focuses on climate justice, and the Chapel’s honorees exemplify a commitment to climate advocacy in the face of enormous economic and political pressures. The three recipients of the 2020 Óscar Romero Awards are Gérman Chirinos of Honduras, Bernadette Demientieff of Alaska, and Jorge Díaz of Puerto Rico.

The virtual ceremony will be hosted by David Leslie, Executive Director of the Rothko Chapel, and an invocation will be given by Myokei Caine-Barrett, Shonin, the Resident Priest of Myoken-ji Temple in Houston. The ceremony will be available in English and Spanish.

Event Details



This is a virtual event.

Ticket Info

Admission is free.