Aperio, Music of the Americas presents "The People United Will Never be Defeated - 36 Variations on a Revolutionary Anthem"

Courtesy photo

Aperio, Music of the Americas, in collaboration with FotoFest and Rothko Chapel, presents "The People United Will Never Be Defeated - 36 Variations on a Revolutionary Anthem," featuring music by American composer Frederic Rzewski.

Aperio artist Brendan Kinsella performs Rzewski's masterpiece for solo piano, 36 Variations on The People United Will Never Be Defeated. Rzewski composed this hour-long, virtuosic work in 1975 on the eve of the United States' bicentennial as a meditation on the 1973 overthrow of the Allende government in Chile. In addition to being one of the greatest contemporary contributions to the classical music canon, it is a powerful statement on political struggles, cultural hegemony, resistance and revolution.

Kinsella is a pianist of incredible range and technical gifts, noted internationally for his interpretations of contemporary scores.

A facilitated discussion focused on the parallels between the Chilean Revolution and current events in the Middle East will follow the performance.



Rothko Chapel
3900 Yupon St.
Houston, TX 77006


$10 suggested donation.
All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.