Nameless Sound presents Éliane Radigue: Vice-Versa, etc... + Kyema from Trilogie de la Mort

All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.
Éliane Radigue
Éliane Radigue Photo courtesy of Nameless Sound

Between 1969 and 1970, Éliane Radigue created a series of works made with three tape recorders, a mixing board, an amplifier, two loudspeakers, and a microphone. These works (Ursal, Omnht, Σ = a = b = a + b, and Vice-Versa, etc...) consisted of microphone and tape recorder feedback, reworked through studio techniques such as slowing down and reversal of direction.  Vice-Versa, etc... is comprised of a single magnetic stereo tape with hand-written instructions for diffusion suggesting that any combination of channels-right channel alone, left channel alone, or both channels together-can be overlapped, on several recorders, at any playback speed, forward or backward, ad libitum.

Created between 1985 and 1993, Trilogie de la Mort is considered by many to be Éliane Radigue's masterpiece. An extended sonic meditation on death informed by Radigue's dedicated engagement with Tibetan Buddhism, the piece is made up of three hour-long ARP 2500 synthesizer compositions: Kyema, Kailasha, and Koumé. Kyema, the first piece of the trilogy, was inspired by the Bardo Thodol, or Tibetan Book of the Dead, with six sections reflecting the six bardos, or intermediate states of life and death which constitute the existential continuity of a being.

Event Details



Live Oak Friends Meeting Skyspace
1318 W. 26th St
Houston, TX 77008

Ticket Info

Admission is free.