Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series presents Salman Rushdie


The Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series 30th anniversary continues with an onstage interview with Salman Rushdie. The author of more than 10 novels, his major works include Midnight's Children, Shame, The Satanic Verses, which attracted a great deal of attention (including death threats), and The Moor’s Last Sigh. He has also published four works of non-fiction, a collection of short stories, and edited two fiction anthologies. Rushdie was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II for his services to literature, and The Times of London ranked Rushdie 13th on its list of "the 50 greatest British writers since 1945." He will read from his new novel, Luka and the Fire of Life, which is a companion to his earlier work, Haroun andthe Sea of Stories. Rushdie wrote the book for his youngest son and hopes it “demolishes the boundary between ‘adult’ and ‘children’s’ literature.” Rushdie will also sign copies of his new novel.

There will be no late seating.



Jones Hall
615 Louisiana St.
Houston, TX 77002


$5 general admission
All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.