Houston Symphony presents Mendelssohn's Scottish


A varied program titled Mendelssohn's Scottish with conductor young Kirill Karabits, it is the violin concerto that demands attention.  

Premiered in 1904, Sibelius' Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47 is the composer's only full-length concerto. Although he wrote some smaller pieces for solo instrument and orchestra, this violin standard is incredibly demanding both musically and technically. Broad and sweeping melodies depict the desolate and cold northern landscape and an unusually extended cadenza tests the skills of the player and listener alike. Violinist Leila Josefowicz's interpretations are heartfelt with a warm tone and virtuosic bravura.  

A musical journey through the Scottish countryside with Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 3 closes the program. 



Jones Hall
615 Louisiana St.
Houston, TX 77002


$25 - $101
All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.