Faculty recital: Chamber music by Brahms and Reger

HaynesWhaley Associates

Faculty, special guests and talented students gather to offer a concert that focuses on chamber music of Germanic provenance. The performance includes Max Reger's Clarinet Quintet, performed by the Dover String Quartet and clarinetist Michael Webster, and Brahms' Serenade in D Major, Op. 11 for 10 players, performed by faculty members Eric Halen, Kenneth Goldsmith, Leone Buyse, Robert Atherholt and Benjamin Kamins alongside Houston Symphony violist Sheldon Person and students Matthew Berliner, Jesse Cristeson and Ian Hallas.

The program journeys from an early score by Brahms to the last work by his admirer Max Reger. Though Reger's Clarinet Quintet was written in 1915, the composer's approach is deeply rooted in 19th century aesthetics.

Brahms originally wrote the Serenade in the late 1850s for a chamber group, but that version was lost or destroyed when he orchestrated it. Chris Nex reconstructed it for woodwind quintet and string quintet to resemble what Brahms may have written.



Shepherd School of Music
6100 Main St.
Houston, TX 77005-1892


Admission is free.
All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.