Da Camera presents the Shanghai Quartet with Wu Man, pipa

Courtesy photo

​Da Camera closes its exploration of the evolution of the string quartet with a program encompassing a masterpiece of Western music and cutting-edge contemporary works. The program includes Bright Sheng's String Quartet No. 4 "Silent Temple," Lei Liang's Five Seasons for string quartet and pipa, Yi-Wen Jiang's Yao Dance and Bartok's String Quartet No. 5, Sz. 102.

Winner of the 2011 Rome Prize, composer Lei Liang has been heralded as "one of the most exciting voices in New Music" (The Wire). The renowned Shanghai Quartet is one of the world's foremost chamber ensembles. Formed at the Shanghai Conservatory in 1983, the quartet has worked with the world's most distinguished artists and regularly tours the major music centers of Europe, North America and Asia. The Shanghai Quartet has been regular performers at many of North America's leading chamber music festivals, including the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Chamberfest Ottawa and Maverick Concerts where they recently made their 24th consecutive annual appearance.

Musical America's Instrumentalist of the Year for 2013, Wu Man has created a new life for her instrument, which has a history of over 2,000 years in China.



Asia Society Texas Center
1370 Southmore Blvd.
Houston, TX 77004


All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.