Ars Lyrica Houston presents Conflict & Concord

All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.
Ars Lyrica ensemble
Photo by Pin Lim

This first of two all-Bach programs for Ars Lyrica's Fall 2020 season explores the rich repertory of cantatas and chamber music from the great Baroque master.  Cantata 170 transcends human suffering with beautiful melodies and delicate textures, while Cantata 134 celebrates the joys of the next world with sumptuous orchestral and vocal forces. Between these masterworks, principal players offer a remarkable trio sonata Bach composed for Frederick the Great, from a collection infused with ideological and musical contrasts.

The concert will feature Steven Brennfleck, tenor, and Leia Lensing, mezzo-soprano.


  • J.S. Bach: Vergnügte Ruh’, beliebte Seelenlust, BWV 170 
  • J.S. Bach: Trio Sonata from A Musical Offering, BWV 1079 
  • J.S. Bach: Ein Herz, das seinen Jesum lebend weiß, BWV 134  

Event Details



This is a virtual event.