Aperio, Music of the Americas presents "Elevations - Music by Copland, Rochberg, Rzewski & Dzubay"

Photo by Ben Doyle

Elevations features music by Aaron Copland, George Rochberg, Frederic Rzewski and David Dzubay. This program brings together a collection of pieces that display technical bravura, profound musical insight and contemporary innovation, while turning an ear to the past for inspiration.

Aaron Copland's austere and compelling Piano Variations, a landmark of the 20th-century repertoire, explores classical form in a tersely modern dialect. George Rochberg's Viola Sonata assumes a similar neo-classical aesthetic, but uses a rich tonal language to reveal the composer's expansive neo-romantic leanings. Frederic Rzewski's Piano Piece IV pays tribute to the tradition of the virtuoso keyboard toccata, incorporating South American folk elements with brilliant improvisatory gestures. David Dzubay's Cello Sonata employs a post-serial aesthetic to surprisingly hearken back to the traditions of jazz and bebop.

Each work is a standout in the contemporary repertoire, remarkable for candor, wit and emotional gravitas. Hearkening back to the forms of the classical canon, these composers contributed greatly to a compelling new body of music — one that expresses the sentiment of present times.

Presented by Aperio, Music of the Americas in collaboration with Sicardi Gallery. Violist Larry Wheeler and pianist Brendan Kinsella will mark their Aperio debuts on this concert. Aperio favorites, pianist and artistic director Michael Zuraw and cellist Daniel Saenz, will also perform.



Sicardi | Ayers | Bacino
1506 W. Alabama St.
Houston, TX 77006


$30 general admission; $20 seniors; $10 students with ID.
All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.