Aperio, Music of the Americas presents "6 Strings / 88 Keys - Latin American Music for Guitar and Piano"

Photo by Annalisa Palmieri Briscoe

Aperio, Music of the Americas presents music by Heitor Villa-Lobos, Manuel Ponce, Carlos Guastavino, Antonio Lauro and Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco. This program features modern works for guitar and piano that celebrate the confluence of European Impressionism and Neoclassicism with the rich tradition of New World folk, popular and nationalistic music.

Evoking sounds of Brazil, Venezuela, Argentina and Mexico, this collection of works reveals the growth and elevation of classical guitar repertoire into the 20th century by some of the most celebrated composers of the Americas.

Performers include Texas Guitar Quartet founding member Alejandro Montiel and Aperio artistic director, pianist Michael Zuraw.



Texas Gallery
2012 Peden St.
Houston, TX 77019


$10 - $30
All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.