Out-of-this World Rodeo Lineup

Astronaut in outer space helps RodeoHouston reveal out-of-this-world concert lineup: The mega acts are......

Astronaut reveals out-of-this-world RodeoHouston concert lineup

0012, RodeoHouston, Kenny Chesney concert, March 2013
Kenny Chesney will perform at the Rodeo on March 14. Photo by © Michelle Watson/CatchLightGroup.com
Pitbull finger point
Pitbull is sure to be a Rodeo favorite on March 8. Photo by Chinh Phan
Keith Urban flourish
Keith Urban will close the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo on March 20 Photo by Chinh Phan/FotoWerk Group
Jason Derulo
Jason Derulo headlines the Rodeo on March 4. Jason Derulo/Facebook
Band Perry at Houston Rodeo March 2014
The Band Perry opens the Rodeo on March 1. Photo by © Michelle Watson/CatchLightGroup.com
0012, RodeoHouston, Kenny Chesney concert, March 2013
Pitbull finger point
Keith Urban flourish
Jason Derulo
Band Perry at Houston Rodeo March 2014

The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo got a little help from outer space to reveal its out-of-this-world 2016 concert lineup. In a video released at 12:05 am Monday, astronaut Scott Kelly introduced the eclectic group of performers from his perch inside the International Space Station. The list includes a host of country music stars, including four members of the Grand Ole Opry, as well as Latin Grammy and Teen choice winners, along with one tough Pitbull.

The Band Perry will open the rodeo on March 1 on First Responders Day and Keith Urban will close the three-week extravaganza on March 20 at the RodeoHouston Super Shootout.

Among other country greats are Kenny Chesney, Jason Aldean, Jake Owen, Miranda Lambert, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line and Brad Paisley. Hip-hop-heavy R&B singer Jason Derulo will be the featured entertainer on March 4 (Black Heritage Day) and 17-year-old singer Shawn Mendes will perform on March 6 in the rodeo slot usually reserved for the teenybopper crowd.

Rapper Pitbull returns to the rodeo on March 8 and rocker Kid Rock returns on March 15. And on Go Tejano Day, traditionally one of the most well-attended days at the rodeo, Los Huracanes Del Norte and Banda Los Recoditos will be center stage on March 13.

Tickets go on sale January 16  at 10 am through AXS Ticketing via rodeohouston.com. The Virtual online Waiting Room opens at 9:30 am on January 16, but fans can register any time at axs.com/rodeohouston_registration. When the store opens at 10 am, fans chosen at random can purchase tickets, no matter what time they entered the Waiting Room. 

Visit rodeohouston.com/Tickets/RODEOHOUSTONTickets to view all RodeoHouston ticket options.

Here is the 2016 lineup:

Tuesday, March 1 — First Responders Day, sponsored by BP America — The Band Perry

Wednesday, March 2* — Armed Forces Appreciation Day, sponsored by BHP Billiton  —  Chris Young

Thursday, March 3 — Jason Aldean

Friday, March 4 — Black Heritage Day, sponsored by Kroger  — Jason Derulo

Saturday, March 5 — Cole Swindell

Sunday, March 6 — Shawn Mendes

Monday, March 7 — Miranda Lambert

Tuesday, March 8 — Pitbull

Wednesday, March 9* — Brett Eldredge

Thursday, March 10 — Luke Bryan

Friday, March 11 — Darius Rucker

Saturday, March 12 —  Billy Currington

Sunday, March 13 — Go Tejano Day — Los Huracanes Del Norte/Banda Los Recoditos

Monday, March 14 — Kenny Chesney

Tuesday, March 15 — Kid Rock

Wednesday, March 16* — Jake Owen

Thursday, March 17 — Florida Georgia Line

Friday, March 18 — Little Big Town

Saturday, March 19 — RodeoHouston Super Series Championship —Brad Paisley

Sunday, March 20 — RodeoHouston Super Shootout®, presented by Crown Royal — Keith Urban

*Value Wednesdays include $10 upper level Rodeo tickets, plus values throughout NRG Park.

See the announcement video here: