A real cut-up

Texas Chainshaw Mania: See the winners of the Magnificent 7 Ice Carving Competition

"Ladies and Gentlemen, start your chainsaws" was the refrain as acclaimed ice artists from across the country transformed blocks of ice at the Magnificent 7 Ice Carving Competition at Discovery Green.

Sponsored by Neuro, the fifth annual event attracted hundreds who watched as carvers battled for five hours for prizes, including a cash reward and the coveted People's Choice Award.

Wielding chainsaws, blow torches and razor-sharp chisels, the artists worked with ice slabs harvested from more than 1,500 gallons of recycled rainwater - very much in keeping with Discovery Green's mission. The ice will be used to water the park's landscaping now that the competition has closed.


Right, an ice artist goes for the gold as spectators watch in amazement.

Congratulations to the first-place winner of the 2013 competition, Aaron Costic from Broadview Heights, Ohio, for his creation featuring an angel, doves and peace symbol.

Note the iron: A secret weapon or standard ice-carving equipment?

The People's Choice Award was given to Benjamin Rand from West Palm Beach, Fla.

People commented about the artist's ability to achieve such a thin and smooth sculpture while still maintaining stability and strength in the work. 

Second place went to Steve Brice of Fairbanks, Alaska, for this ice angle with thick ice for the wings and dove and clear, thin ice for her flowing hair and billowing sleeves.

Heather Brice also came all the way from Alaska, becoming the first woman in the competition.

Brice turned her block of ice into this wonderful octopus, earning her fifth place.

Max Zuleta of Zion, Ill., took home third-place honors, keeping his bestowed "Zice" nickname in tact.

Fourth place: Benjamin Rand of West Palm Beach, Fla.

Danny Bloss of Niles, Mich., soared to sixth place with his shuttle-inspired carving.

And last but not least, Buddy Rasmussen of San Antonio won seventh place in the Magnificent Seven Ice Carving Competition.

Congratulations to all and hope to see you again next year!