River Oaks Chamber Orchestra presents Sliding Into Home

Thomas Hulten
Thomas Hultén Photo courtesy of River Oaks Chamber Orchestra

Sliding Into Home brings the 2015–2016 In Concert series to a close with a single performance, featuring the commissioned world premiere of Dorothy Gates’ trombone concerto, “Servant of Peace.”

Principal trombonist and ROCO Brass Quintet member Thomas Hultén makes his debut as a ROCO soloist in this piece by Gates, who is known for her compositions for The Salvation Army Band. This is Gates’ ROCO debut. Acclaimed conductor Victor Yampolsky leads the concert, which includes Franz Schreker’s Chamber Symphony in One Movement, Arthur Honneger’s Symphony No. 4 “Deliciae Basilienses” and Antonio Vivaldi’s Concerto in G Minor, “for the Dresden orchestra,” RV 577.

Event Details


4.9.16 | 5:00 pm


The Church of St. John the Divine
2450 River Oaks Blvd.
Houston, TX 77019


Ticket Info