River Oaks Chamber Orchestra presents Quartet for the End of Time

Maiko Sasaki
Maiko Sasaki Photo courtesy of River Oaks Chamber Orchestra

“Quartet for the End of Time” is a large and intensely moving work that was composed by Olivier Messiaen while he was held in a Nazi prisoner-of-war camp in 1941. The world premiere was performed by the 31-year old Messiaen and three other prisoners in the rain, on decrepit instruments, for an audience of fellow prisoners and guards. Messiaen declared that the work was inspired by of one of The Book of Revelations’ grandest, most inspiring passages.

ROCO clarinetist Maiko Sasaki performs and curates a selection of projected images that illustrate the composer’s point of view.

Event Details


11.22.15 | 5:00 pm


Midtown Arts and Theatre Center Houston (MATCH)
3400 Main St.
Houston, TX 77002

Ticket Info