Houston Symphony presents Shostakovich Symphony No. 10

Houston Symphony with conductor Andres Orozco-Estrada
Photo courtesy of Houston Symphony

Houston Symphony presents Shostakovich Symphony No. 10, a program of 20th century classics that kicks off with one of Shostakovich’s brightest and most joyful works, his Festive Overture. Then, marvel at Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left Hand, performed by Houston favorite Kirill Gerstein. Inspired by pianist Paul Wittgenstein, a WWI amputee, Ravel’s astonishing and moving score creates the illusion of two hands playing while using only one. Shostakovich’s deeply personal Symphony No. 10 was written in the wake of Stalin’s death. It contains a biting caricature of the Soviet dictator and ends with a thrilling and emotionally intense finale.

Event Details


1.24.16 | 2:30 pm
1.23.16 | 8:00 pm
1.22.16 | 8:00 pm


Jones Hall
615 Louisiana St.
Houston, TX 77002


Ticket Info