Ars Lyrica and Orpheus Chamber Singers present J.S. Bach's Magnificat

Ars Lyrica
Photo by Anthony Rathbun

Ars Lyrica joins forces with Dallas-based Orpheus Chamber Singers for performances of J.S. Bach's Magnificat. The program includes works by Gabrieli and Handel's Coronation Anthems. Bach's Magnificat is scored for five soloists, a five-part choir and orchestra. Composed for Christmas in 1723 and then revised in 1733 for the feast of the Visitation, its Latin text is the canticle of Mary, mother of Jesus, as told in the Gospel of Luke. The two Handel anthems, including "Zadok the Priest," are both grand and ceremonial, and like the Bach Magnificat, feature choir and Baroque orchestra with trumpets and timpani.

Event Details


11.10.12 | 7:30 pm


800 Bagby St.
Houston, TX 77002


Box Office Hours

Monday: 10am - 6pm
Tuesday: 10am - 6pm
Wednesday: 10am - 6pm
Thursday: 10am - 6pm
Friday: 10am - 6pm
Saturday: 11am - 4pm
Sunday: 11am - 4pm

Ticket Info

Tickets start at $35.